Home Truck News MTA names Burton Driver of the Year - Truck News

MTA names Burton Driver of the Year – Truck News

The Manitoba Trucking Association (MTA) has named Glen Burton of KAG Canada its MTA-Volvo Trucks Canada Driver of the Year.

Burton, a driver with more than 30 years of experience, was honored last weekend during the driver awards banquet that followed the Professional Truck Driving Championship at the Headingley Husky Travel Centre.

Driver of the Year Glen Burton of KAG Canada. (Photo: MTA)

A representative for KAG Canada said, “Whenever an opportunity presents itself, he [Burton] is always taking time to stop and talk to each and every driver he crosses paths with. These moments can take place on the road, fueling up in the yard, or in the driver’s lounge. Glen is always there to be a friendly face.”

The MTA-Inland Group Industry Excellence Award winners were announced during the banquet as well.

They are: Glen Burton, KAG Canada; Bill Gagnon, Big Freight Systems; Kan Ha, Core-Mark International; Jacob Giesbrecht, Penner International; Jerry Brodoway, Searcy Trucking; Henry Klassen, Penner International; Tony Smale, Big Freight Systems; Gerald Bartel, Penner International; Billy Wiebe, Penner International; and Alvin Tonn, Jade Transport.

Picture of Jaswinder Sandhu and Doyle Piwniuk
Jaswinder Sandhu of Bison Transport, left, and Doyle Piwniuk, Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure. (Photo: MTA)

The rookie award went to Ryan Kyle of Professional Transport Driver Training. The Hal Bjornson Memorial Award was presented to David Phillips of Bison Transport.

Driving championships

Earlier in the day, 32 professional drivers competed in the truck driving championship. Bison Transport’s Jaswinder Sandhu was crowned grand champion of the event.

Other winners included:

Super-B trains: 1st – Murray Manuliak, Bison Transport; 2nd – Bruce McKechnie, Bison Transport; 3rd – David Henry, Maple Leaf Agri Farms

Tandem-tandem: 1st – Jaswinder Sandhu, Bison Transport; 2nd – Prabhjot Randhawa, Bison Transport; 3rd – Denis Roberts, Kindersley Transport

Single-tandem: 1st – Gord Unger, Searcy Trucking; 2nd – Sergii Linkevich, Bison Transport; 3rd – Rodney Birdsbill, Allscape

Turnpike: 1st – David Phillips, Bison Transport; 2nd – Darren Cassan, Arnold Bros. Transport; 3rd – Doug McEwen, Bison Transport

Team: 1st – Bison 1 (Bruce McKechnie, Prabhjot Randhawa, Mario Tyszuk, and Doug McEwan); 2nd – Bison 2; 3rd – XPO Logistics

Credit: Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Brossard Leasing offering electric trucks, charging stations – Truck News

Brossard Leasing has placed an initial order for 10 electric trucks, partnering...

BC Ferries sets price cap – Truck News

Ferry users, including commercial trucks, can expect an annual fare increase by...

Pedestrian killed after being struck by Walmart truck in Victorville – VVdailypress.com

Pedestrian killed after being struck by Walmart truck in Victorville  VVdailypress.com Credit: Source link

Arrive Logistics expands into Canada with Toronto office – Truck News

Arrive Logistics is expanding into the Canadian market with an office in...

ConMet establishes European headquarters – Truck News

ConMet has established European headquarters in Stuttgart, Germany, supporting regional activities. “As we...